Home / Esports News / Call of Duty: Modern Warfare: Everything You Need to Know
Last updated March 3, 2020

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare: Everything You Need to Know

December 21, 2019

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare is a first-person shooter that’s part of the long-running Call of Duty franchise.

It serves as a re-release of Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, which was released in 2006 and was the first of the Call of Duty games to be used as an esports. It effectively reboots the “Modern Warfare” sub-series of the Call of Duty franchise, which ended with the release of 2011’s Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare first released for the PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox in October 2019.

How Do You Play Call of Duty: Modern Warfare?

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare features both single-player and multiplayer modes.

In the single-player campaign, gameplay focuses on realism and forces players to make moral decisions based on the given situation, which the game will then evaluate and place a score on at the end of every level. The higher the score of the player, the higher the reward. Character dialogue will also differ depending on the decisions made by the player in the middle of the game, including tactical choices, such as using different, less violent tactics, making for a more open-ended approach to gameplay compared to the previous Call of Duty titles.

For multiplayer, there are several modes to choose from, such as:

  • Team Deathmatch
  • Cyber Attack
  • Domination
  • Search and Destroy
  • Headquarters
  • Hardpoint
  • Free-for-all
  • Gunfight

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare will use Domination, Search and Destroy, as well as Hardpoint for competitive matches.

Who are the Best Call of Duty Players?

Call of Duty hasn’t really received the kind of “esports money” that other titles have. However, while its competitive scene has flown under the radar for all but its most hardcore of fans, a handful of players have carved themselves quite the career by collecting surprisingly large amounts of money from participating in various tournaments throughout their careers.

Damon “Karma” Balow currently holds the top spot as the highest-earning Call of Duty players with $804,847.25 to his name.

The 26-year-old has played Call of Duty competitively since 2010, having played for notable teams such as OpTic Gaming, FaZe Clan and Evil Geniuses. He is the only player to have ever won three Call of Duty world championships, winning it back-to-back in 2013 and 2014 before adding another one to his trophy case in 2017.

Karma’s teammate, Ian “Crimsix” Porter, is another notable player, who has earned $783,409.47 just from playing Call of Duty competitively. Although he hasn’t won as many World Championships as Karma, Crimsix has won the most tournaments, with 32 titles to his name, including the 2014 and 2017 championships.

Jordan “JKap” Kaplan is right up there among Call of Duty’s very best as well.

The 25-year-old was arguably the most successful player during the advanced movement era, which lasted from 2015 to 2017. During this time, he would go on to make it to the Grand Finals of the Call of Duty World Championship three straight times. He would end up winning twice, back-to-back, in 2015 and 2016, first with Denial Esports and then with Team Envy.

All three players will be competing at the Call of Duty League as part of the Dallas Empire (Crimsix), Seattle Surge (Karma), and OpTic Gaming Los Angeles (JKap).

What is the Call of Duty League?

After lacking a structured league for many years, Call of Duty is finally getting its franchised league for 2020.

Referred to as the Call of Duty League, the Call of Duty League will replace the Call of Duty World League series of tournaments, which ran from 2016 to 2019.

The Call of Duty League will take a page out of the Overwatch League’s book and will feature 12 city-based franchise teams. Because of this limited number of franchises, teams who previously participated in the Call of Duty World League series of tournaments were left out, especially after it was reported that the buy-in amount was set at around $25 million for each team.

The 12 confirmed teams and ownership groups for the Call of Duty League are as follows:

  • Atlanta — Atlanta Faze (Atlanta Esports Ventures)
  • Chicago — Chicago Huntsmen (NRG Esports)
  • Dallas Empire — Envy Gaming, Inc.
  • Florida — Florida Mutineers (Misfits Gaming)
  • London — London Ravens (ReKTGlobal, Inc)
  • Los Angeles — Los Angeles Guerrillas (Immortals Gaming Club)
  • Los Angeles — Optic Gaming Los Angeles — (Kroenke Sports & Entertainment)
  • Minnesota — Minnesota Rokkr (WISE Ventures)
  • New York — New York Subliners (Sterling VC)
  • Paris — Paris Legion (c0ntact Gaming)
  • Seattle — Seattle Surge (The Aquilini Group)
  • Toronto — Toronto Ultra (OverActive Media)

All 12 teams will have seven-man teams for the inaugural Call of Duty League, with 5 filling out the starting lineup and 2 additional players as substitutes.

The Call of Duty League will start off the season immediately with 5v5 professional matches in home-vs-away settings in all 12 locations. In addition to this, the Call of Duty League will also feature League-run major events throughout the season.

Each participating Call of Duty League team will also get a chance to host two “Home Series” weekend events, once during the Spring Split and another during the Summer Split. In between, a Midseason Weekend event for all 12 teams will also be held.

The teams with the best win-loss records will all advance to the double-elimination playoffs at the Call of Duty League Championship Weekend in Summer 2020, where the champion will be crowned.