Home / Esports News / FIFA 20: Everything You Need to Know
Last updated March 3, 2020

FIFA 20: Everything You Need to Know

December 30, 2019

FIFA 20 is the latest football sim from Electronic Arts.

The game is the 27th installation of the FIFA series. It was first released on September 27, 2019, for the PC, PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and Nintendo Switch.

FIFA 20 will succeed FIFA 19 as the title of choice for the FIFA eWorld Cup 2020.

Top Games Selection
100% Up To
€300 +20
Free Spins

How to Play FIFA 20

FIFA 20 changes the focus of gameplay from the traditional football matches that FIFA is known for and focuses more on street football.

The new feature, “VOLTA Football”, which is Portuguese for “return”, will allow players to customize gameplay. Instead of just traditional matches, players can play three on three, four on four, and five on five matches in FIFA 20. This is in addition to professional futsal matches, which is a type of football that’s typically played indoors and on the hardcourt as opposed to the open field.

The main difference between this shift in focus is that gameplay revolves more on independent play and individual skill as opposed to team play.

Of course, traditional 11 on 11 matches are still very much on the table. However, unlike in previous versions, FIFA 20 rewards off-the-ball space creation more and encourages individual play.

Other changes that were implemented to FIFA 20 in terms of 11 on 11 matches include new penalty and free-kick mechanics, as well as updates to the ball physics to make them seem more lifelike.

What is the FIFA eWorld Cup?

With the help of FIFA and EA Sports, the FIFA series of video games have consistently received support for its competitive scene via the FIFA eWorld Cup.

Initially referred to as the FIFA Interactive World Cup, the former FIWC first began in 2004. However, it wasn’t until 2013 that the game’s competitive scene truly took off, with more than 2.5 million players signing up in hopes of being part of the annual event.

By 2015, the 12th edition of the FIWC had kicked off, with Xbox One and PlayStation 4 players competing against each other for the first time. That year saw another increase of participants, thanks to the game finally being made available for both the Xbox One and PlayStation 4 platforms.

In 2018, the FIFA Interactive World Cup was rebranded as the FIFA eWorld Cup.

Since 2017, the Grand Finals of the FeWC (formerly FIWC), has been held at the O2 in London, United Kingdom, featuring 32 finalists, 16 players from each of the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One.

Who’s the Best FIFA Player?

As the reigning FeWC champion, Mohammed “MoAuba” Harkous currently has the strongest claim over the title of the best FIFA player in the world. He took home the title over perennial favorite Mossad “Msdossary” Aldossary.

With the win, MoAuba also made history as the first-ever PS4 player to win the championship since 2015.

Msdossary is also a noteworthy player.

He is currently the only one to have made it to the final match of two FeWC in the current generation of consoles. He is the former FeWC 2018 champion.

Donovan “Tekkz” Hunt is also considered one of the best FIFA players in the world. However, he holds the dubious distinction of starting his season off strong, only to falter during the Grand Finals of the FeWC.

This is evidenced by his 17th-20th place finish at the FIFA eWorld Cup 2019, despite winning the FUT Champions Cup 2019 multiple times throughout the season, as well as the PGL Masters Bucharest 2019.


The FIFA eWorld Cup 2020 is currently underway and will run through June 2020.